Contributors

The L. R. Wilson Chair in Information Technologies and E-Commerce Law was created thanks to an exceptional donation of $775,000 in 2002 from Lynton Ronald “Red” Wilson, OC, during the Université de Montréal’s funding campaign “Un monde de projets.”

Other generous benefactors have rallied to the cause. The McCarthy Tétrault LLP law firm and the Société des alcools du Québec (SAQ) have each contributed by $250,000 to create the Chair. The Osler, Hoskin et Harcourt LLP law firm also contributed to the Chair fund by $150,000. Bell Canada, Louis Lagassé and André Charron have each donated $100,000.

The contributions are capitalized and managed under the Université de Montréal’s endowment fund. Each year, the University pays over to the Chair revenues generated by the Chair’s dotation.

 

The L. R. Wilson Chair in Information Technologies and E-Commerce Law was inaugurated on February 5, 2003, and Prof. Pierre Trudel was then named as the first Chairholder. In addition to Lynton R. Wilson, OC, and the Chairholder, the ceremony was otherwise attended by Robert Lacroix, Rector of the Université de Montreal, Jacques Frémont, Dean of the Faculty of Law, David Masse, member of the Chair campaign team, Ejan Mackaay, Director of the Centre de recherche en droit public (CRDP).

 

About Lynton R. Wilson, OC

Lynton Ronald “Red” Wilson, OC, is the former Chairman of the Board and CEO of BCE, and former Chairman of the Board of Nortel Networks, two of the biggest players in the telecommunication field. He is also Chairman of the Board of CAE Inc. and serves on the boards of a number of other companies. In 1997, he was appointed Officer of the Order of Canada, and he has received honorary doctorates from many Canadian universities, including one from the Université de Montréal, in 1995.

This visionary, who lived in Montreal for eight years, has seen the importance of studying the exponential growth of the information technologies that are transforming our society, and the resulting challenges, particularly with respect to the creation of a new form of law able to regulate interactions in the Internet’s open networks. At the inauguration, he said: “It is a great honour for me to be intimately associated with your efforts by contributing to the creation and ongoing funding of the new Chair in Information Technology and E-Commerce Law.”

 

Media coverage :

  • « Lancement de la Chaire L.R. Wilson sur le droit des technologies de l’information et du commerce électronique », Forum, February 21, 2003.
  • « Université de Montréal Chair to Study How Technology Influences Canadian Legislation » , Brian Dunn, Computing Canada , February 28, 2003, available at  here
  • Speech by M. Lynton R. Wilson during the CRDP's 40th anniversary, on February 26, 2002
Updated the 16 June 2015 at 0 h 32 min.

Contributeurs

La Chaire L.R. Wilson sur le droit des technologies de l’information et du commerce électronique a été crée grâce un don exceptionnel de 775 000 $ de Lynton Ronald “Red” Wilson, OC en 2002 dans le cadre de la campagne de financement “Un monde de projets” de l’Université de Montréal.

Dans le cadre de cette campagne de financement “Un monde de projets”, le cabinet d’avocats McCarthy Tétrault et la Société des alcools du Québec ont chacun offert une contribution de 250 000 $ pour participer à la création de cette Chaire. Le cabinet d’avocats Osler, Hoskin et Harcourt a également participer à la création du fonds à hauteur de 150 000 $ ainsi que Bell Canada, Louis Lagassé et André Charron offrant chacun 100 000 $.

Ces contributions sont capitalisées et administrées dans le cadre du Fonds de dotation de l’Université de Montréal. Chaque année, l’Université de Montréal verse au crédit de la Chaire les revenus réalisés sur le capital de dotation de la Chaire.

 

La Chaire L.R. Wilson sur le droit des technologies de l’information et du commerce électronique a été inaugurée le 5 février 2003, et le professeur Pierre Trudel en a été nommé le premier titulaire. Outre la présence de Lynton R. Wilson, OC et du titulaire de la Chaire, Robert Lacroix, recteur de l’Université de Montréal, Jacques Frémont, doyen de la Faculté de droit, David Masse, membre du cabinet de campagne de la Chaire, Ejan Mackaay, directeur du Centre de recherche en droit public participaient à l’événement.

 

À propos de Lynton R. Wilson, OC

Lynton Ronald “Red” Wilson, OC, est l’ancien président du conseil et chef de la direction de BCE et actuel président du conseil de la Corporation Nortel Networks, deux des plus importantes entreprises dans le secteur des télécommunications. Lynton R. Wilson est également président du conseil de CAE Inc. et membre du conseil de plusieurs autres sociétés. Nommé officier de l’Ordre du Canada en 1997, il détient des doctorats honorifiques de plusieurs universités canadiennes dont un de l’Université de Montréal en 1995.

Ce visionnaire qui a habité Montréal pendant huit ans a su reconnaître la croissance exponentielle des technologies de l’information qui transforment notre société et les défis qui en découlent, notamment la définition d’une nouvelle forme de droit capable de régler les interactions dans les réseaux ouverts du cyberespace. Lors du lancement, il a indiqué : « C’est donc un grand honneur pour moi de m’associer intimement à vos efforts en contribuant à la création et à la pérennité financière de la nouvelle Chaire sur le droit des technologies de l’information et du commerce électronique ».

 

Dans les médias :

  • Lancement de la Chaire L.R. Wilson sur le droit des technologies de l’information et du commerce électronique », Forum, 21 février 2003.
  • «Université de Montréal Chair to Study How Technology Influences Canadian Legislation» , Brian Dunn, Computing Canada , 28 février 2003, disponible ici.
  • Discours de M. Lynton R. Wilson lors du 40e anniversaire du CRDP, 26 février 2002
Mis à jour le 16 juin 2015 à 0 h 32 min.